Four elected to Rapid City school board | Education

The Rapid City Area Schools Board of Education will have four brand-new members after Tuesday’s election. Two incumbents, including the current board president, lost.

Voter turnout was low, with only 6,020 ballots cast out of 60,632 registered voters — less than 10% of the electorate.

Area 1 winner Deb Baker received 1,314 votes to beat Natalie Slack, who received 734 votes. Area 2 winner Breanna Funke received 295 votes to beat incumbent and current Board President Curt Pochardt and Tatewin Means, who received 173 and 209 votes, respectively. Area 3 winner Gabe Doney received 1,371 votes to beat incumbent Kara Flynn, who received 1,082 votes. Area 7 winner and incumbent Kate Thomas received 397 votes to beat Jennifer Read and Megan Collier, who received 306 and 85 votes, respectively.

Support Local Journalism

Your membership makes our reporting possible.


“I just want to thank everybody for voting. I’m super excited to be the parents’ voice on the school board and to represent them well. I’m excited to get to work,” Funke told the Journal Tuesday night. 

None of the other winners responded to requests for comment.

This year’s school board election was contentious; candidates and some campaign organizers said the race was political despite the nonpartisan nature of the school board. A number of Republican state lawmakers donated to all four of the winning campaigns.

Source link

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: